Held every two years, the Randwick City Architecture and Urban Design Awards are one of Randwick City's key urban design initiatives. On Thursday 29 October, the winners of the 8th Biennial Architecture and Urban Design Awards, which celebrate exceptional design in our built environment were announced. Held every two years, the Randwick City Architecture and Urban Design Awards are one of Randwick City's key urban design initiatives. The Awards aim to inspire outstanding urban design by recognising design excellence, promoting community awareness, and acknowledging the architects and designers involved in enhancing Randwick City’s built environment.

This year, we announced our winners a little differently. Hosted by the Mayor of Randwick, Cr. Danny Said the finalists, commendations and winners of each award were announced via a Zoom webcast. The awards were presented by The Mayor alongside our panel of independent expert judges. Randwick City Council would like to thank the judges, who comprehensively reviewed every entry, shortlisted, and conducted individual site visits of all the finalists.

The 2020 Judges were:

  • Associate Professor Paul Jones, Urban and Regional Planning Program at the Sydney University School of Architecture, Design and Planning
  • Dr. Yuan Wei, Academic Tutor and Research Assistant at the University of Sydney, who assisted Paul as a judge.
  • Tanya Vincent Acting Director of Strategic Urban Design & Place for Transport for NSW,
  • And Dr Sue Rosen, History & Heritage Specialist, Sue Rosen & Associates, Heritage Consultants


This year’s entries to were of an exceptionally high standard. From modest renovations of family homes to multimillion-dollar masterplans, every entry into this year’s awards was unique, catering for the many different people who live, work, study and play in Randwick City.











Best House Finalists

Coogee House II – Madeleine Blanchfield Architects

House 15/17 – MiArchitects

Pinnacle Place – Prebuilt

Winner – House 15/17 – MiArchitects

Best Alterations and Renovations Finalists

Attic House – Madeleine Blanchfield Architects

Garden Pavilion – MASQ Architecture

Kenzai Project – The Design Commission

Light House – Welsh + Major

Joint winners: Kenzai Project – The Design Commission & Light House – Welsh + Major

Commendation to: Garden Pavilion – MASQ Architecture

Best Apartment Finalists

Randwick Townhouses – 30axis

697 Anzac Parade – Fox Johnston

2 Wolseley Road – X.PACE Design Group

Newmarket – Batessmart design group

Winner: 2 Wolseley Road – X.PACE Design Group

Commendation: 697 Anzac Parade – Fox Johnston

Best Urban Project Finalists

The Coogee Collective – MHN Design Union

UNSW Science and Engineering Precinct – Grimshaw

Clancy Auditorium – Lahnznimmo Architects

Newmarket – Batessmart design group

Joint winners: Clancy Auditorium – Lahnznimmo Architects & Newmarket – Batessmart design group

Best Conservation Project Winner: Newmarket – Batessmart design group

People's Choice Award: Newmarket – Batessmart design group

Hi-Vis Prize Winner: GB House – Renato D’Ettorre Architects

Click here to go back